Healthy Homemade Fruit Snacks

Bunch of Fruit SnacksThis year I have been on a mission to eat better, feed my family healthier foods and find homemade solutions to our most popular store bought items. One such food are the dreaded fruit snacks. I don’t know a single kid who doesn’t love these chewy, sugar loaded, mystery chemical laced food. Yes, some do say “Made with Real Fruit Juice” but they neglect to mention all of the other weird things thrown in.

Every day at lunch, or when they need a snack, or just because, my kids will go to the drawer where the fruit snacks are and beg to scarf down a bag or two or three. So, today I decided it was time to try a homemade solution to this store bought snack.

I have been seeing some homemade fruit snack recipes floating around on Pinterest and other websites and have always wanted to try them but haven’t been brave enough to. Last time I tried to make a homemade version of one of my kid’s favorite snacks it totally backfired. I made “fruit leather”. It’s supposed to be like a fruit rollup but mine was more like fruit jerky. Totally GROSS!

But today I put on my big girl panties, took a deep breath and conquered this homemade beast. It was really quite easy and surprisingly my kids LOVED it! I based my version off of one I found at An Organic Wife. It’s similar to all of the recipes I have seen online. I was pleasantly surprised at how easy this was to make and how yummy they were to eat!

HOMEMADE FRUIT SNACKS

gelatin

Ingredients:

  • 2 1/2 cups of strawberries (or blueberries, raspberries, peaches, kiwi, etc.) I used frozen strawberries, let them defrost a bit before starting. Pretty much any fruit should work.
  • 1/2 cup of lemon juice (freshly squeezed or from a bottle is fine)
  • 2 TB of honey or agave if you have a honey allergy in your home (I used more than this, probably more like 4 TB. The 1/2 cup of lemon juice made it all very sour)
  • 1/2 cup of unflavored or flavored gelatin.

Step One:  If using frozen fruit, defrost in the refrigerator or in a microwave. Mine were not at room temperature, but rather nicely chilled.

Step Two: Add fruit and lemon juice to a large pot, simmer on medium/low until the fruit softens. Mine was a little over 5 minutes.

Step Three: Now, pour the fruit into a blender and puree. Once completely pureed, pour back into the pot. Allow it to cool a little bit, about 5 minutes.

Dino Molds

Step Four: Stir in the honey/agave and gelatin then whisk. Make sure to whisk, and whisk and whisk again. The gelatin will solidify very quickly. By using a whisk you can easily break up any chunks that might be in the mix.

Step Five: Pour the mix into silicone molds (silicone works best as it’s incredibly easy to get the treats out), place in the refrigerator and allow to set for 1-2 hours.

Step Six: Pop them out of their molds and store in an air tight container in the refrigerator!

Dino Fruit Snacks

I LOVED how the dinosaurs turned out! I wanted to get better pics of them but my kids ate them up before I could!

 

I hope you and your little ones enjoy these as much as my family has!

2 thoughts on “Healthy Homemade Fruit Snacks

Leave a Reply

