Foodie Penpal Reveal!

blogbadgeAPPLE Foodie Penpals

Today is the day! It’s the Foodie Pen pal reveal day!

This is the first month I’ve every participated in the Foodie Pen Pal program operated by The Lean Green Bean. It has been really exciting and my kids and I had a lot of fun doing it!

What is the Foodie Pen Pal? Well, you sign up at The Lean Green Bean’s website and you are matched up with a pen pal. You shop for your pen pal and mail your package of goodies, along with a hand written note, by a specified date. The person you are matched up to send foodie goodie’s to is not the same person who will me mailing a package to you! This just makes the foodie experience that much more fun.

I received a package from a young woman named Wangeci. She is orignally from Kenya and included some of her foodie favs from Kenya! I LOVE trying new foods, and especially foods specific to other countries and cultures.

Wangeci operates an awesome foodie site called Foodie In The Desert. She has some amazing recipes on there! I can’t wait to try her “Viazi Karai” recipe. It all looks so delicious!

Photo1

Wangeci mailed me a box of Kenayan tea, Chicken Mansala and Tea Mansala, Tamarind Juice, Pad Thai Noodles and hot Wasabi peas (YUM!). I immediately tore into those wasabi peas. And my kids and I LOVE the Kenyan tea. But my favorite is the Tea Mansala. It is sort of like a chai tea mix (which is one of my vices) but so much better.

Photo2

She also sent me a little letter explaining the contents of the package. I absolutely LOVED it all!

The Foodie  Pen pal program has been so fun. It was great for my kids also! They got to try some new foods and learn what others in a different country like to eat!

I can’t wait until next month when the new Foodie Pen Pal group starts up! If you want to be a Foodie Pen Pal then head over to the Lean Green Bean’s site to register!

Leave a Reply

