“The Dad Life”

Father's Day

Well it has been one incredible week! I was blessed with the opportunity to teach cake decorating at my churches children’s camp this past week. I had 18 K-2 graders and 9 3rd-6th graders. It was a long, busy and tiresome week but so worth it! Teaching kids cake decorating classes is my absolute favorite. They get so excited when they master the skills.

I made this "dummy cake" for the last day of camp. It is a styrofoam cake covered in fondant. Then I had all of the kids and staff autograph it with food safe markers. I then displayed it on the last night for parents to see. It was a big hit!

I made this “dummy cake” for the last day of camp. It is a styrofoam cake covered in fondant. Then I had all of the kids and staff autograph it with food safe markers. I then displayed it on the last night for parents to see. It was a big hit!

By the end of the week all of my kids were able to identify which tips we used throughout the week (star tip, grass tip, round tips, leaf tips, drop flower tips and the cupcake swirl tip). They were also able to identify a coupler and demonstrate a 90 degree angle. Plus we read a little bit of the Thunder Cake book I wrote about the other day.

Now, Father’s Day is upon us and, as usual, my carefully thought out plans have fallen through. The fun and cool Father’s Day things I wanted to do is simply not going to happen. But we’ll still do something fun for dear ol’ dad. In the meantime I wanted to wish all of you dad’s out there a very big and wonderful Father’s Day (and all of you single mom’s who are playing both parts, keep it up!).

As I re-enter the blogging world and plan some upcoming posts, I wanted to leave you all with a fun music video in honor of Father’s Day. These men are hilarious! I absolutely LOVE their song and their video (especially the dad on the lawnmower rollin’ in slow mo, watch and you’ll know what I’m talking about).

Here’s to all of you fathers out there! Happy Father’s Day!

 

Leave a Reply

