Thunder Cake!

photo

I absolutely L-O-V-E baking and decorating anything sweet and delicious but sometimes nothing can replace just a good recipe with a sumptuous topping. The fondant and frills and hand-made pieces are of course nice, artistic and provide a certain “Wow” factor, but sometimes I just want a good old cake.

photo (5)

A few months ago my daughter came home from school and told me about a book they read in class called Thunder Cake by Patricia Polacco. It is a lovely story about a young girl (the author) and her Babushka (grandmother) who helped her get over her fear of thunderstorms. The key to overcoming that fear was grandma’s Thunder Cake.

photo (4)

Ever since my budding baker in waiting read this story in class she has been all over me to make this cake! She even went so far as to write down the recipe and bring it home for me. But one day, as I was perusing my local thrift store aisles, I came across this very book that she  fell in love with, and of course I bought it!

photo (3)

Yesterday, as the threat of rain and storm showers threatened the enjoyment of our summer day, we decided to bake up a Thunder Cake! It came out amazingly wonderful, and I was surprised that I couldn’t even taste the secret ingredient!

If you would like to whip up your own batch of Thunder Cake then check out the author’s website here for the recipe, and while you’re at it check out her book! It’s a great story and wonderful tradition to begin with your own family.

photo (4)

One thought on “Thunder Cake!

Leave a Reply

