Locks of Love: Making a Hair Donation

locks_of_love

Click on the above pic to be directed to the Locks of Love website.

My oldest daughter and I have been growing our hair out for an eternity. I haven’t had mine cut for a year (any stylists just lost their breakfast after reading that comment). But seriously, it was all for a purpose.

For years now I have wanted to donate my hair to help make hairpieces for people who have lost their hair due to a medical condition. God has so lovingly graced me with incredibly thick hair and I knew if I just grew it out then I could donate it and make someone very happy.

So this past Friday my 9-year-old and I went and got our hair chopped off! I would prefer a shorter cut over long heavy and hot hair any day so cutting all of that off was no big deal. My stylist kept asking me if I was alright. It made me laugh because I’m surely not the type of girl who would hyperventilate over a hair cut…..I mean, it’s hair. It does this amazing thing called growing. If I don’t like it, it will grow back!

Photo3

We chose to send our hair to an organization called Locks of Love . According to the Locks of Love’s website:

Locks of Love is a public non-profit organization that provides hairpieces to financially disadvantaged children in the United States and Canada under age 21 suffering from long-term medical hair loss from any diagnosis. We meet a unique need for children by using donated hair to create the highest quality hair prosthetics. Most of the children helped by Locks of Love have lost their hair due to a medical condition called alopecia areata, which has no known cause or cure. The prostheses we provide help to restore their self-esteem and their confidence, enabling them to face the world and their peers.

My daughter was elated at the idea of her hair being used to help another child, that she will never meet, somewhere in this great country of ours or our friends up north in Canada. We talked about it and she said she knew we had to help other kids. That girl warms this mama’s heart!

Photo4

In order to donate to Locks of Love you must send in 10 inches of hair. That’s a LOT of hair. Our wonderful stylist sectioned off our hair and rubberbanded the sections into pony tails (the hair must be received in a pony tail). Then she started cutting away.

Photo1

Once your hair is cut, and you’re ready to send in your pony tails, you simply fill out a form found on Locks of Love’s site, or click here. Read carefully through the requirements before having all of your hair cut off. There are certain things that can’t be accepted.

Once the form is completed, you mail it off inside of a plastic bag tucked safely into a padded envelope.

Photo2

This simple act of donating our hair is just one way to show love and compassion to another person. Someone we’ll probably never meet, or even if we did we’d never know they could be wearing our hair. I am so humbled by the love, compassion and selfless acts that my daughter has shown by insisting we participate in this amazing cause.

Serve one another in love. The entire law is summed up in a single command: “Love your neighbor as yourself.”-Galatians 5:13-14

Photo6

12 thoughts on “Locks of Love: Making a Hair Donation

    • Christina says:

      Oh My Goodness! That’s amazing! I’m so glad to hear that. Imagine if everyone did what they could to help someone they don’t even know. What an amazing world we could create. I just shared your friends story with my daughter. She smiled from ear to ear. Thank you (about my hair cut). I’m so glad to get all of that hair cut off!

    • Christina says:

      Thank you! My hair is very thick and grows fast also. The stylist had difficulty cutting through my hair when she was cutting off the pony tails she made. She kept saying “wow, your hair is thick”. LOL. I plan on doing this as often as I can. Thanks for stopping by

    • Christina says:

      Thank you! I was such an honor and a humbling experience to take part in. I mailed our hair off today! Thank you so much for stopping by! Blessings!

Leave a Reply

