Proverbs 31: A Noble Wife and Mother

Mothers

Honor her for all that her hands have done,
and let her works bring her praise at the city gate. Proverbs 31:31

Motherhood…….. it’s not for the faint of heart. And my motherly patience was tested yesterday when my computer crashed on me. I couldn’t finish my Mother’s Day post! So here it is a day late.

There is no true way to prepare your mind, heart and body for the experiences of motherhood. There’s no doubt that life changes when children enter into it, but as women we are blessed with the gift of motherhood, not confined by it.

Her children arise and call her blessed;
her husband also, and he praises her:
 “Many women do noble things,
but you surpass them all.” Proverbs 31:28-29

Lady Bug

This photograph is from “The Time-Warp Wife”. I love her site!

I remember after my first daughter was born I couldn’t stop staring at her. I would watch her sleep peacefully in her crib, tightly wrapped in her burrito blanket, dreaming dreams of who knows what, completely oblivious to her surroundings. Totally dependant on me to feed, bathe and care for her. This beautiful child was mine and for some reason I was the lucky one blessed with this little life, her tiny yet strong spirit was entrusted to me to give her love, guidance, support and instill a moral fiber deep in her heart. I can still remember holding that little innocent baby who was perfectly made, cradled in my arms for the first time and hearing her exercise her vocal chords through shrill little cries. I never knew that my heart could possibly love another person so much. That this amazing girl grew inside of me for 9 months and that I would forever be bonded with her.

She speaks with wisdom,
and faithful instruction is on her tongue. Proverbs 31:26

Looking upon her was like catching a glimpse of heaven. Nothing else mattered in that moment. Proverbs 31 As a young mom I put A LOT of pressure on myself to be a good mother. I wanted to do things as right as I could. I wanted to be a modern mom and woman by working a full-time career while raising a family. I thought I could do it all! Nothing could stop me and I felt immense pressure from my ex-husband, myself and society to do so.

She opens her arms to the poor
and extends her hands to the needy. Proverbs 31:20

When my kids were very young I went back to school to finish my bachelor’s degree. I was in school full-time and worked full-time. I typically slept 4-5 hours a night with little to no help from my ex-husband. I pushed myself so hard to create this perfect little family lifestyle. But perfection is an illusion. It’s something that people tend to strive for but will never achieve. It took me roughly 7 years, a divorce, a death, starting my life over, re-marrying a strong loving Christian man and developing a relationship with God to re-examine my mothering style.

She sets about her work vigorously;
her arms are strong for her tasks.
She sees that her trading is profitable,
and her lamp does not go out at night. Proverbs 31:17-18

Proverbs 31: 10-31 lays out before us an excellent example of a mother and wife. It is a wonderful guideline and reminder for all of us girls who strive day in and day out to become better wives, mothers and walk closer with God. It is incredibly important to remember that we are only human. We will make mistakes along the way. There is grace available to each and every one of us though!

Moms, you are all amazing. Don’t ever think any different. Do  not let the voices in this world degrade or belittle your super-powers, because yes you are a super hero. You are the hero to your children. They look to you with wide eyes for love, acceptance, guidance and understanding. When you are having a mommy melt down, and you know what I’m talking about, just remember that it’s ok to not live up to the “perfect” image of motherhood. It’s alright that the dishes are piled in the sink and laundry needs done. It will be alright. None of those things will ever change the way your family views you. It won’t change the love and admiration in your childs eyes when they look at you. When you find yourself needing some encouragement then it is my hope that to turn to Proverbs 31: 10-31. Immerse yourself in the word, learn and grow.

Mother

Image from “The Time-Warp Wife”. Click on the image to be directed to that site.

 Charm is deceptive, and beauty is fleeting;
but a woman who fears the Lord is to be praised. Proverbs 31:30

Blessings and Happy Mothers Day!

Leave a Reply

