Junior Bake Sale Success!

I know I’ve been silent for a few days. I want to share with you what I’ve been working on! This past week was busy busy busy! I had a cake order to complete by Friday, help my daughters with their baked goods for a junior bake sale on Sunday, and I worked throughout the week.

Front

The cake order I had was for a 4oth birthday cake in a 80’s rock band theme. The main band was Guns N Roses. I made a gumpaste Guns N Roses logo for the front of the cake as well as a KISS logo and ACDC logo. I LOVE how it turned out!

The cake is covered in black fondant and embellished with 50/50 fondant gumpaste flames. I used red color dust to add detail to the flames and attached all pieces with melted white chocolate.

The 40 is gumpaste and hand painted with gold to add some shimmer and shine.

Welcome to the Jungle!

But the highlight of the week was a junior bake sale that my daughters participated in. It was held at a nearby shop called Smidge and Pinch I totally adore this shop. It is a party and cake decorating supply shop. When you walk into the doors it’s like stepping into a magazine. The shop is adorably decorated with unique items that are perfect for any party. They even have an online store!

Photo1 (7)

This past Saturday they hosted a junior bake sale. Young entrepreneurs were welcomed to bring their home-baked goods, set up their own booth and sell them to customers. The kids were able to keep all of the money they made! My girls were so very excited about participating in the bake sale. They worked very hard baking. They did very well and worked together on recipes. They tried out the new Kitchenaid mixer and the best part is that they did it together. Don’t tell anyone but I did help out with the icing. Between my weird work schedule and the kid’s school work, we had a hard time working on baking in the evening. So in order to get it done I helped a little. They did the embellishments and baking.

 

The girls decided to donate all money they made to The One Fund Boston .This fund is set up to help those that survived the Boston Marathon bombings on April 15th this year. It was set up by the Governor of Massachusetts and the Mayor of Boston.

We thought long and hard about what flavor of cupcakes to make. I suggested to the girls that we make unusual flavors, something different that people wouldn’t expect. You can only make so many chocolate and vanilla cupcakes before you get tired of them.

Picture 372

The girls unanimously voted on Pink Lemonade, Cherry Limeade and Double Chocolate (I caved, had to have some chocolate in there somewhere).

Pink Lemonade Cupcake single

 Pink Lemonade was by far the most popular of the flavors we made. We completely sold out!

Cherry Limeade Cupcakes bunch

Cherry Limeade was the second most popular. My daughters didn’t like it much but I LOVED it. It is a great flavor that induces memories of summer. They looked adorable!

Diva Cupcakes 2

Lastly were the chocolate cupcakes that my daughters named “Diva Cupcakes”. They were adorned with fondant cell phones, tiaras, purses and sunglasses. They had a blast making the fondant pieces. I adamantly told them one evening that they weren’t going to work on homework but rather make fondant pieces. They didn’t argue.

Picture 371

At the end of the day the girls made $48  for the victims of the Boston bombings. They had so much fun that as soon as we got home my oldest daughter immediately began listing out new flavor combinations and designs she would like to try at the next junior bake sale. They have decided that from every bake sale they will donate all of their earnings to a charity of their choice. They will choose a different charity to bless with each bake sale!

photo (13)

Happy Baking!

Leave a Reply

