Hand Made Easter Egg Ornaments

Photo1 (3)

I have fond memories of coloring Easter eggs as a child. I remember the extreme excitement and whole-body-shaking jitters I would get the day I knew we were coloring eggs. What is it about this simple act that brings out the child in all of us? Even now, when I watch my kids excitement grow over the egg coloring preparations, I find myself to be just as happy and giddy as they are.

Photo9

One of my grandmother’s hand-made eggs. It’s hard to tell from the picture but it is covered in crackle paint.

This year we have done every other craft except color Easter eggs (I have something special planned for these colored eggs). I have long wanted to make hand carved and painted eggs to hang on a little tree. My grandmother used to make these. Only two have survived time’s unforgiving hand, and one is cracked on the bottom. Every year when I pull these out of the Easter decorations I have entertained the thought of making my own. Well, 2013 is the year to do it! It has been a labor intensive project that has tried my patience, organization skills and creativity. But in the end, I am in love with our little tree and it’s dainty display of decorated eggs.

Photo10

The other Easter egg survivor that my grandmother made.

I started this crafting quest with nothing more than a Google search for making hand carved Easter eggs. Sadly, all that I could find were these incredibly beautiful and ornate eggs artists have made by using a dentist drill and ostrich eggs. Give it a Google for yourself because these things are incredible!!!! One day I WILL give that a try. As for now, I will stick with my simple little chicken eggs.

Photo6 (2)

My very first egg!

Since I had nothing to base my designs and methods off of, I asked my mom if she remembered how grandma made the eggs. She recalled her using very small scissors to cut the shell. Conundrum number 2, what sort of magical scissors could she have used?

Materials:

photo 4

Well, there’s only so many preparations I could make. I jumped right in and got started on my family’s next Easter project. First I gathered some supplies. The list of things grew as I went on with this and made more and more eggs.

  1. Large eggs 
  2. A screw or nail (I used a screw)
  3. Super glue
  4. Nail polish or craft paint
  5. Clear Polyurethane (optional)
  6. Ribbon
  7. Other items to decorate with such as small silk flowers, jewels or sequins
  8. Doll house size trinkets. I bought a pack of 6 fuzzy bunnies from the doll house section at Hobby Lobby
  9. Toothpicks
  10. Small scissors, I used small scissors from our medicine cabinet and they worked better than the small craft scissors I had in all of my craft stuff.
  11. Pencil

Making The Eggs:

Now comes the fun part! It’s time to get to work. BUT first, WASH YOUR EGGS!  I can’t emphasize this enough. Wash them with warm soapy water and a scrub brush. Fecal matter can and probably is all over that cute little egg. You want to clean these off very well before you put your mouth on it to blow out the yolk.

photo 2

Now you will want to carefully poke a hole in the top of your egg with the screw. This part is all about pressure control. It will take a few times to know how hard to push on your egg. It’s OK if you don’t get a perfect hole or if your egg cracks a little here. You will cover it up later on.

Then poke a bit bigger hole on the bottom of the egg with the same screw. Insert a toothpick through the top hole and carefully stir it around inside the egg. You’re just trying to break up the yolk and egg white a little so that it will blow through the bottom hole a easier.

photo 3 (1)

Now, place your mouth around the small hole and blow. The liquid egg will come out of the bottom bigger hole. Make sure to blow all of it out! Rinse the inside of the egg with hot water a few times. The inside of the egg will fill with water when you run it under the facet. Once there is some water in there shake it around then blow it out. You can also let the eggs sit in some soapy water if you like but I didn’t have any problems with just thoroughly rinsing them out with hot water.

Let the eggs sit and dry completely. Once dry they are ready to decorate!

Carving The Circle:

photo (9)

I cut this shape with the small craft scissors. As you can see the edges of the oval is ragged and uneven.

photo 4

I cut this oval with the scissors in the picture. Much better results.

Using a pencil, draw the oval or whatever shape you like, onto the side of your egg. Use the screw to poke a hole inside the oval. Then use the small scissors to start cutting out the shape. I started out with some small crafting scissors and it cracked the egg as I went. It was extremely frustrating. I tore through my house until I found these small scissors in my medicine cabinet. These worked wonderfully! Barely any cracking as I cut. You can see the side by side above.

Color Me Happy!

Fun….part deux! Now it’s time to paint! Let your creativity flow. I am so hooked on this and will be making many many more. This is definitely going to be a crafting tradition.

photo 5

This egg is painted with craft paint and sprayed heavily with clear polyurethane.

I started out painting an egg with craft paint but I hated the results! I just didn’t like how it dried, the look, the texture. I even sprayed it multiple times with clear polyurethane to enhance the look, feel and stability of the egg. But, blah, I just didn’t like it. I hated seeing the brush strokes, I didn’t like how the paint laid on the egg. I don’t know. I just didn’t like it. Maybe if I had different colors, all I had were colors from a Dora the Explorer art project… I just don’t know. Maybe I’ll get some softer colors for next time.

Photo2 (4)

My daughter painted this with nail polish! It turned out so pretty!

Next I decided to try nail polish. I figured what the hey, maybe it’ll work. I was so happy with the results of nail polish! It was especially easy for my kids to work with. Plus I have almost every single color of nail polish so the possibilities were endless. And, many nail polishes are made to strengthen your nails so it actually adds a little bit of stability to the egg. We did most of our eggs with nail polish.

Photo5 (2)

Spray painted glitter purple egg in honor of my husband and Epilepsy.

I also wanted to try spray paint. I have a can of dark purple glitter spray paint I bought at Halloween to spray a foam pumpkin. I had yet to use it. I told my husband I was making his egg purple in honor of Epilepsy since purple is the awareness ribbon color. I turned out beautiful, and it adhered to the egg very well. The only thing I would caution you on is this particular glitter spray paint clogged up the sprayer. It got to be way too frustrating to use.

It’s All In The Details

Photo3 (3)

My talented daughter’s little bunny egg.

If you wish to add a little something to the inside of your egg I would recommend using super glue and not a glue gun. Many times the glue from the glue gun doesn’t permanently stick to surfaces. Permanent glue will and it will add some extra strength to the egg.

I used super glue to glue down the Easter grass, the bunny and all ribbon. It does take a bit of time to dry so be patient. Let the eggs site long enough to completely dry.

Photo8

Handmade with love by a sweet little 6-year-old.

Making the Tree

Photo1 (4)

I had an extra small Easter themed bucket in my decorations. I used this and hot glued a piece of this styrofoam to the inside on the bottom. Then my daughters and I went out on a hunt for twigs. I found three twig winners that I shoved into the styrofoam. I then covered the ugly foam with Easter grass and Voila! My little egg tree.

I am so happy with our lovely little eggs. I hope you have enjoyed this post and feel compelled to give this craft a go. You will love the results!

Happy Easter!

Photo7

Leave a Reply

