Resurrection Easter Garden

Completed garden

Ok, so I know you have probably seen these little gardens on other sites as well as Pinterest but I had to give it a go on my own. I have wanted to make one of these since last Easter when I first discovered them. What a beautiful and symbolic way to recognize the empty tomb, where Jesus had been laid to rest, that first Easter morning so long ago.

Yesterday, after my hubby and I endured the torture of getting our taxes done, I decided to run some errands before our massive springtime snow storm hit. While I was out and about I made a snap decision that on this yucky cold and gray day we were going to assemble a resurrection garden.

This was a pretty inexpensive craft. There are not a whole lot of items to gather and it only took a few minutes to put together. I assigned jobs for each of the kids and I assembled it all to avoid too much of a mess in the kitchen.

It was also a fun way to tell the Easter story with the kids. As I built the garden I asked questions to them like “why is this large rock going into our garden?” “What is the name of the hill where Jesus was crucified?” I was able to use it as a teaching tool as well as a fun family craft and Easter decoration. Although, I think this will stay out all year round.

Garden suppliesMaterials

  1. 1 8 inch Terracotta tray
  2. Potting Soil
  3. Small terracotta flower pot
  4. Grass seed
  5. Decorative pebbles
  6. Small Twigs
  7. Water
  8. Glue Gun
  9. medium to large rock

 

What To Do

Terracota

  1. Hot glue the small terracotta flower pot to the center of the terracotta trayseed
  2. Arrange the pebbles in front of the small pot so it resembles a pathway
  3. Cover the small pot and the back half of the tray with potting soil so that it resembles a hill
  4. Plant the grass seed according to the package instructions.
  5. CrossesAssemble three crosses out of the small twigs. We hot glued them then my daughter wrapped hemp around the centers to add extra strength to them.
  6. Spray the dirt with a healthy dose of water (you will probably need to spray this everyday to keep it moist)
  7. tomb
  8. Place the large rock to the side of the opening of the terracotta pot.
  9. Now sit and wait for the grass to grow in your garden.

On the first day of the week, very early in the morning, the women took the spices they had prepared and went to the tomb. They found the stone rolled away from the tomb, but when they entered, they did not find the body of the Lord Jesus. Luke 24:1-3

I hope that you and your family feel inspired to make your own lovely resurrection garden to celebrate this Easter season. What a gorgeously simple way to remember the true meaning of this day.

Happy Easter!

2 thoughts on “Resurrection Easter Garden

Leave a Reply

