Soda Pop Cupcakes!

Orange Soda Cupcake

My precious third grader is currently studying economics. As part of this unit, the entire third grade is hosting a mini mall. Each student is responsible for creating a product to sell, creating advertisement for the product and selling the product at the mall. All proceeds will be donated to charity.

Diary of a Wimpy Kid

My artistic little one decided on two products. First; a series of original drawings. She focused on subject matter that other third graders would find relevant and important in their lives like characters from Diary of a Wimpy Kid and personal remembrances of our family vacations. She also wanted to make cupcakes!

We decided to make a soda pop flavored cake. First it was going to be Cherry Coke, then Root Beer. The decision was simply too difficult and the weight of finalizing a flavor was difficult for her to bear. But, alas, she made a final decision. Orange Soda Cupcakes! Drawings

I have been wanting to bake a cake with a can of soda but just haven’t had a reason to try it. I’ve seen people make these online and I’ve known some people who have baked up these little delights. But I’ve never tried it! For the life of me I couldn’t figure out how it would work but trust me, it does.

All you need:

  1. 1 box of cake mix (I used white)
  2. I can or 1 1/2 cups of orange soda (some sites say to only use diet, but I had regular and it worked great)

What you do:

  1. Empty cake mix into mixing bowl
  2. Add soda and mix thoroughly
  3. Bake like normal according to box

They turned out so yummy! You can taste a little bit of the fizz when you bite into them and they have a delicious mild orange flavor. I decided to make a vanilla/orange swirl for the icing. I was going for the taste of orange creamsicle.

I whipped up a batch of Simple Buttercream Icing without any flavor extracts. I then split the batch in half. To one half I added a tsp of vanilla and to the other I added a tsp of orange extract.  Then I colored the orange flavored, orange.

To Make the Two-Toned Swirl:

two bags

  1. Fill one piping bag with the white vanilla icing about half way
  2. Fill another bag with orange icing about half way
  3. two bags in oneThen place both bags into a completely new bag that is already equipped with Wilton Tip 1M.
  4. When you squeeze out the icing it will naturally swirl!
  5. To make the classic cupcake swirl, hold the bag straight up and down above the cupcake, starting at the outside edge, squeeze the bag and go around the edge the cupcakes working your way in toward the center.

I LOVE the flavor and texture of these little cupcakes. I can’t wait to try other combinations! I’m thinking:

1. Cherry Coke and Chocolate Cake

2. Vanilla Coke and Chocolate Cake

3. Rootbeer and Spice Cake

4. Sprite/Sierra Mist and White Cake

Have fun with your own creative combinations!

Happy Baking Everyone!

Leave a Reply

