Rose Swirl Cake

Rose Swirl Cake

The Rose Swirl Cake has become very popular among birthday celebrations and bridal showers. It truly is a very pretty design. Adding another element of dimension to this is making the layers of roses different shades of the same color. This is called Ombre- Gradually goes from dark to light. I have loved the various cake designs that I have seen online. So I decided to give it a try.

Typically the baker will color the cake itself to match the color scheme of the icing. But because I made the decision to make this cake ombre at the last-minute, the inside does not match the outside shades. Next time I’ll be more prepared.

Butterfly on Rose Swirl Cake

The bottom layer is simply a white cake with vanilla filling and the top layer is peanut butter cake, filled with peanut butter buttercream icing. The peanut butter is absolutely my favorite!

Achieving this look is very simple. A beginning decorator would have little difficulty making this.

Begin by baking your cake according to your recipe or box directions. Let cake cool completely! Always, always, always cool your cakes before working with them. I always wrap mine in plastic wrap and place them in the refrigerator for a couple of hours AFTER  they have sat out and cooled on cooling grids. Once they have become nicely chilled, I pull them out and begin working with them.

Always remember to level your cake if you need to. Leveling the cake is simply cutting off the dome shape that tends to form on the top of the cake from baking. It is very important to level your cake, especially if you plan on putting another tier or layer on top. When stacking layers or tiers it is crucial to have level cakes. I even have a small level tool that I stole from my husband that I use only on my cakes. If they aren’t level then you could potentially have a lop-sided or tilted cake or worse a cake that falls over.

There are a few different options for leveling the cake. You can do this with a leveler like the Wilton Ultimate Cake Leveler, using a serrated knife or you can even use dental floss! Be careful when using the knife. It is easy to cut unevenly. The trick to using the knife is to cut only about 1/2 inch into the edge of the cake all the way around. Then cut your way across. If you wish to try the dental floss method, simply cut a piece long enough to go across the diameter of the cake. If the cake is in front of you, simply put the dental floss at the far end of the cake and pull it through the cake toward you.

Once you fill and assemble your cakes. Then you can either crumb coat the cake by icing a thin layer on then popping it in the refrigerator for an hour, then icing the roses. Or you can live on the edge, go for broke and just ice the roses. You decide.

Making the Rose Swirl

To make the roses, you will need a Wilton tip #2D. This is the same tip you use when making drop flowers. Make sure to make enough icing for the entire project. I colored mine as I went. I made a batch of dark purple, iced the flowers, then added white to the dark purple left over in the bowl and then adjusted the color to get the right shade. This two tiered cake took about 6 cups of icing.

When making the roses, it may be beneficial to practice on a cupcake or a piece of parchment paper with a circle drawn on it just to get used to the size you will need for your cake.

Swirl Rose

1.  (Top Left) Holding your bag at a 90 degree angle, begin piping with steady pressure. 
2.  (Top Right) Without stopping pressure, begin to move icing around the itself.
3.  (Bottom Left) Continue moving in a circular motion.
4.  (Bottom Right) Continue moving around until you come back to where you started DO NOT RELEASE PRESSURE continue on to the following steps. 

Swirl Rose 2
5.  Continue wrapping your strand of icing around and around. I normally wrap it around twice but it depends on how large you want it.
6.  When you have achieved the size and look you want, stop squeezing to release pressure and pull the tip away. If you end up with a little peak, don’t worry, wait a few minutes for the icing to dry a bit then tap it down.

Green Rose Swirls

These swirls also look beautiful on cupcakes. If you try this technique I would love to see your finished projects!

Happy Baking!

13 thoughts on “Rose Swirl Cake

    • Christina says:

      Thank you! I’m so happy you have been made yourself at home here. 🙂 The Wilton classes are great, I’m glad you learned a lot from them. There are so many wonderful things and techniques to do with cake decorating. I went through the classes myself and I was very sad when I had taken all of them. I came to look forward to each class so much! Thanks for stopping by!

    • Christina says:

      Thank you! This has been one of my favorite cakes I have made. The butterflies are not edible. They were actually magnets I bought at Michaels Craft store last summer. They were in their $1 area. Thanks for stopping by!

  1. Casey says:

    Hi. I was just wondering, did you stack the cakes and then pipe the swirls? Or did you do all of the swirls and then pipe? Thanks!!

    • Christina says:

      Hi Casey! Yes, I stacked them first, secured them, then piped the rose swirls on. I figured that would be way easier than piping them first then trying to stack them without messing up my pretty piped roses. Thanks for visiting!

Leave a Reply

