Daily Prompt: Cupid’s Arrow

sand

Today, as in his tradition, my hubby wrote me a heart-felt letter (email) to commemorate Valentine’s Day 2013. Below is my response to him and my own little love note to mark this day of love. Happy Valentine’s Day!

My Love,

I too wanted to mention on this day of love that I whole heartedly love and adore you. And, just like you, not because it feels obligatory to send you a special email (or post a letter on my blog for the entire world to see) but because I love you with all of my heart. I am so thankful that you always take the time to tell me yourself how much you love me instead of signing your name on a card that was possibly written by a middle-aged man living in his parent’s basement. (No Offense to any card writers here) But YOUR words are far more valuable to me than some obscure card from the drugstore.

They say the way to a man’s heart is through his stomach.  Well I’m so glad I got you hooked by my “wicked awesome” Buffalo Chicken Casserole and my *amazing* cake pops. I promise that I will continue to stuff unhealthy and artery clogging food down your throat so long as you are happy. 

I adore our joking around, ridiculous made-up songs, bad driving (all you, never me), dirty jokes, weird dancing, funny faces, walks through the bookstore, talks on the phone, late night laughs and so much more. I’m sorry you are constantly searching for socks (because I never put them away), can’t ever find the crushed red peppers (because I am always moving things around), and deal with my all of my cake supplies lying all around the house.

Your stories are always amusing and your delivery is perfect. You keep me laughing all of the time. From Jack-In-The-Box mishaps, to “getting Hoffed” at work, to snapping pics of hillbilly’s at Taco Bell and getting caught doing so. You have made my life a fun and special journey every single day.

My dearest Alan, you are now and always will be my best friend and the love of my life.  I am who I am today because of you. Because of you I have a strong relationship with God and have discovered who I am through your unending love, encouragement and support. 

So to you my dear love, on this Valentine’s Day, I give you an un-stereotypical Valentine as well. No Shakespearean sonnets and no corny metaphors. We have never wanted or needed that in our relationship. I want to tell you today, as I do everyday, that I love you dearly. Here’s to another Valentine’s Day together. May we continue to seek the Lord and celebrate our deep love for Him, for our relationship and for our children. I love you Alan, Happy Valentine’s Day! 

Your Wife

hands

Leave a Reply

