Perry The Platypus Cake

Perry

Everything is better with Perry. Meet Perry the Platypus from Disney’s Phineas and Ferb. My family and I love this show. It’s so ridiculously brilliant! The kids have their humor and the parents have theirs. Perry has become an icon.

The premise of the show: Perry’s owners, Phineas and Ferb, go on amazing adventures and build incredible things while Perry leads a separate life as a secret agent fighting the evil Dr. Doofenshmirtz. It sounds dumb and uninteresting but trust me it’s worth it to watch it.

Last year I approached my husband with the magic question, What sort of cake would you like for your birthday? To which he replied A Perry the Platypus Cake! Okkkkk…….  This demonstrate’s one of the many reasons why I love him. He is a big goofy kid at heart. Only such a grown person would ask for a Perry the Platypus.

side of perry

Upon looking at countless amazing cakes online, I found a simple tutorial from a Disney website. I followed most of it but had to substitute some things for parts of Perry’s body. I didn’t have all that it called for.

  1. His bill and tail are graham crackers. However, I couldn’t get his tail to really stand up on its own (probably because I didn’t use pound cake, pound cake is very dense and thick). So I had to prop up his tail with a large campfire marshmallow. Which was hilarious because it looked like Perry was laying an egg (P.S. Platypuses lay eggs).
  2. His back feet are cut up graham crackers instead of the marshmallow peanuts.
  3. His front legs were piped on with frosting instead of taffy-like candy.
  4. The eyes are campfire marshmallow’s cut in half and the pupil is black icing from a tube.

If you are married to a big kid, or have children that want a Perry cake, then I encourage you to check out this incredibly easy tutorial. If you don’t have all that it calls for, then no worries! Do what I did and improvise. Happy Baking!

 

Leave a Reply

