Simple and Sweet Valentine’s Day Breakfast

Cinnamon rolls

Valentine’s Day conjures images of cherubs, hearts, chocolates, romance and roses. Many men propose marriage on this magical day of amour while others elect to get married at the top of the empire state building. However you decide to celebrate there’s no doubt that Valentine’s Day is a very big deal to many people. In my house, we do it simple and sweet. I don’t go over board on this holiday but I do try to make it fun and special. I always make homemade Valentine’s for my kid’s classroom parties (yes I am THAT mom that seemingly makes everything). I typically make a special sweet treat for the family to enjoy after dinner time. And I like to make a fun little breakfast to start the day off right.

I have a minimal amount of Valentine’s Day decorations. Sadly, I just realized this! I pulled out a box from the basement marked Valentine’s day, opened it and to my surprise (I don’t even know why it’s really a surprise) there were only a couple of decorative things inside. I guess I need to put Valentine’s decorations on my craft making to do list. But there is one little tradition that I do every year for breakfast. It’s fun, simple and inexpensive. I make heart-shaped cinnamon rolls!

My heart-shaped cinnamon rolls are not complicated and do not require some long drawn out recipe requiring one to arise before the sun that day. Instead I use a good old fashioned family recipe passed down by generations past……… refrigerated cinnamon rolls from the grocery store.  I know, I know, it’s like cheating right? But it is so much simpler than trying to do it all from scratch and it’s OK to cheat on my baking duties every now and again. I do feel a bit guilty when I do such things, however I overcome such feelings of remorse rather quickly. Sometimes when you are tired, had a long day at the office, argued with another customer, paid another bill or even drove another kid to practice, you just need to indulge yourself in such trivial baking. It’s fun, quick and rewarding!

The instructions are simple and the ingredients are few. I find so much comfort in the fact that on a cold February morning when the kids drag me out of bed, and before the coffee has run through my veins, I can make a fun, simple and semi pre-made breakfast.

Ingredients:

  • 1 or 2 tubes of refrigerated cinnamon rolls
  • Pink food coloring (optional)

Directions:

  1. Grease a pan used to bake the cinnamon rolls. 
  2. Open cinnamon roll tube and pull out one cinnamon roll.
  3. Unroll the cinnamon roll so that it is a straight line of dough.
  4. Then bend the dough into a heart shape.
  5. Bake at the recommended temperature and time as stated on the package.
  6. While the rolls are baking, open up the icing that came with the cinnamon rolls.
  7. Mix pink food coloring and stir to combine.
  8. Once cinnamon rolls are done, pull out of the oven.
  9. Ice with the pink icing!

Happy Valentine’s Day everyone!

Leave a Reply

