Pretty Pink Chocolate Chip Cookies

pink cookie and bear

Today has been one of those days where the oven has been on since 7 am, all of the laundry is done, I’m still in my pajama’s and I’ve busted my behind to get stuff done around the house. I feel accomplished yet annoyed. I could think of a million things I’d rather do other than laundry. But, alas, it is what it is. It must be done.

I began my day by baking a half dozen zucchini muffins from scratch for breakfast, two loaves of zucchini bread, and seasoned crackers to snack on through out the week. For lunch I set up a baked potato bar where we adorned our spuds with all sorts of goodies. But I saved the best for last. I finished the day strong with 6 dozen romantically pink chocolate chip cookies in honor of Valentine’s day that coming up very soon.

For these pretty little pink cookies I broke out my favorite chocolate chip cookie recipe. This recipe is amazing because it calls for a package of vanilla pudding mix to be added into the dough. The pudding keeps these cookies soft and chewy. I can’t stand a hard crunchy cookie, especially a chocolate chip cookie! It must be soft and chewy.

I rarely enjoy the subtle classic taste of a homemade chocolate chip cookie because I’m mostly baking cakes, cupcakes or other pastries. So since it’s the kind of day where the winter wind is howling, the thermometer is dropping and the snow is falling, I decided I would indulge my beloved family with this warm and gooey classic with my own sweet twist. I hope you find these little pink cookies to be toothsome and delectable.

Pink Cookies

Ingredients:

  •  4 1/2 cups all purpose flour
  • 2 tsp baking soda
  • 2 cups softened butter
  • 1 1/2 cups brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup white sugar
  • 2 pkg. instant vanilla pudding mix
  • 4 eggs
  • 2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 4 cups semi-sweet chocolate chips
  • 2 cups chopped pecans (optional)
  • pink or red food coloring

Directions:

drop cookies

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees Farenheit
  2. Sift flour and baking soda together and set aside.
  3. In a large bowl, cream together butter, brown sugar and white sugar until well blended.
  4. Then add instant pudding mix until thoroughly blended.
  5. Stir in the eggs and vanilla.
  6. Next blend in the flour and baking soda mix.
  7. Add drops of food coloring until you achieve the desired shade of pink.
  8. Add chocolate chips.
  9. Drop cookies onto ungreased cookie sheets or cookie sheets lined with parchment paper by rounded spoonfuls.
  10. Bake 10-12 minutes.

Next, grab a tall glass of milk and some warm cookies, sit down and enjoy the subtle beauty of the classic chocolate chip cookie.

cookies on plate

Leave a Reply

