‘Po Man’s French Toast

French toast

I don’t know about you but every once in a while my family and I sit down to enjoy breakfast for dinner, or as we call it “Slippers and Supper”. It’s sort of a big deal in my house. The kids get on their jammies and slippers, while I make a big old fashioned Sunday morning before church kind of breakfast. Something you might have seen served on The Andy Griffith show (yes, I’m only 31 but I LOVE that show).

I make biscuits with spicy sausage gravy for my husband and I, we have fruit salad and eggs. But one must have item that the kids always request is my french toast. It’s not complicated and doesn’t call for special bread or buttermilk, even though those things DO make an excellent french toast, they are not needed here. My version is simple and it’s almost guaranteed that you already have the items in your house. I mean really, who keeps buttermilk in their refrigerator on a regular basis? I hope you enjoy this ‘Po Man’s French Toast! If you have any versions of this recipes please share your comments below.

Ingredients

Ingredients:

  • Loaf of white or wheat bread (You won’t need the entire loaf unless you are feeding a big family or just one teenage boy)
  • Eggs
  • Milk (any kind, skim or 2 %, doesn’t matter)
  • Cinnamon and Nutmeg
  • maple syrup
  • powdered sugar

Bread in egg

Directions:

  1. Warm up a large skillet on medium heat on the stove top. 
  2. Break open 3 eggs (I always start with 3, you can add more if you need it) into a bowl.
  3. Add about a tblsp of milk or a little more. Don’t add too much or it will be very runny. Start small.
  4. Add about 1 tsp of cinnamon and nutmeg and whisk together.
  5. Take a slice of bread and lay it in the bowl of the egg mix. Then flip it over to cover and coat completely the entire slice of bread.
  6. Next place it in the skillet.
  7. Cook a couple of minutes on one side until cooked through, then flip and cook on the other side.
  8. Continue until you have the desired amount of french toast.
  9. When ready to serve, move toast to a plate, drench in maple syrup and a good sprinkle of powdered sugar.
Leave a Reply

