The Home Depot Kids Workshop

The Home Depot collage

I am always looking for fun, free or frugal things to do with my kids so I’m starting a series on fantastically frugal fun (stay tuned for more cheap family activities). Let’s face it, it can be difficult to find an activity to do with the kids that is fun, rewarding, educational and inexpensive. Families are stretching their dollars thinner and thinner by the day! But never fear dear parents, the well-known home projects store, The Home Depot , offers a FREE, wait please read that again, FREE Kids Workshop. Oh, my! One of my favorite words…. FREE! (<<

bird collage

The Kids Workshop is designed for kids 5-12 years old but I have seen moms and dads toting in 2 year old’s. I think that secretly mom and dad was more excited about the workshop than Jr. was.  It is held on the first Saturday of each month and every month is a different simple project. The kids will learn how to hammer, use wood glue and build with wood. At the end of the workshop your little one gets to take their awesome project home along with a “The Home Depot” orange apron and a pin to wear representing each project completed. The workshop runs from 9am-12pm, but you won’t be there the entire time. You come when you want, build your project and leave when you are done.

Firetruck

Another awesome perk is sometimes the store may arrange for coordinating events to take place. For instance, a few months ago was Fire Safety month. The project for that month was a wooden fire truck toy with real wheels and everything! My local Home Depot arranged for our fire department to come with the big red fire truck for the kids to explore. The firefighters spoke with the kids, gave out fire fighter badge stickers and fire safety books. There was even a fire fighter inside walking around and speaking with the kids. He allowed any child who wanted to try on his boots and suit and even did goofy photos with them. It was so awesome!

So if you are racking your brain for ideas of some cheap family fun, then I highly highly highly recommend checking out your local Home Depot Kids Workshop! Click the link to learn more about The Home Depot Kids Workshop.

Birdhouses

2 thoughts on “The Home Depot Kids Workshop

  1. Lauren says:

    I have never heard of this! I don’t have a little one of my own, but I’m still glad to know about this for my niece or maybe myself some day. 🙂

    • kidlets2 says:

      Lauren, I didn’t know about it either until a friend of mine told me how much her children enjoyed it! It is a lot of fun! The kids make a really cool project, take it home and it doesn’t cost the adults a penny. Doesn’t get any better than that! 🙂

Leave a Reply

